We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Symbister House and Harlsdale
of 128

Symbister House and Harlsdale

Image Item
n/a n/a
This item is active and ready to use
Symbister House and Harlsdale
Symbister House and Harlsdale
Mid 1920's
Symbister House and Harlsdale, from the Sandwick grind. Symbister House with outbuildings: writing room, dovecote, grinding mill, threshing mill, straw barn, byre. In front the Bothies (accomodation for farm workers). The dyke, with gate across road, is the boundary of Symbister House toun. Behind the bothies is Bells Brae (built 1906). Hut with windows is Parish Clerk, John Irvine's, office. Behind this is peat house, and nearby, a lambhouse. Below the office, a sty. Rigs below the sty are turnips, left of this potatoes, then oats. At left of gate is a pivoting gate, which allowed access to people but not animals. At extreme right just seen is a lamb house (blew away in 1927 gale). Notes: water for the mill came from Bu Water to a reservoir, then went through an underground built channel, to drive the wheel, (which was around 16 feet dia.).
  • Whalsay and Skerries
  • Ratter, J D